ghost bootable cd-r drive mapper - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2004, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default ghost bootable cd-r drive mapper

Hello to all,

I wanted to know if there is a way to create a Symantec Ghost Bootable CD-R that will map my network drives.

I can only create one that boots to a local cd-rw unit . No good I'm afraid.

I want to stop using the floppy disk method.

It would be nice to get all my nic drivers, ghost app's all on one CD-R instead.

Is there a way ?

thanks
f20c
__________________

__________________
f20c is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

what version?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I have 7.5 and 8.0
__________________
f20c is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 08:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 17
Default

besides knoppix to do some repairs i use..

http://members.iinet.net.au/~bdriver/bootdisk/usage.htm

is free
__________________
PartieHonteuse is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you can get the drive mapping to work on the old floppy method you use, you can use a cd burning software like nero to make a bootable CD. it will ask for a floppy to create the boot image from. use a cd-rw to test making this. i went through tons of coasters figuring out which options to use. read the software manual for boot CD
__________________
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 11:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

To map a network drive you have to use the "net" commands in the autoexec.bat file. You have to edit this BEFORE you create your CD. As we all know... CD are basically Read Only.

Once you have your drives mapped on your floppy... creat the bootable cd.
__________________
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

to add to HoLoCroN's advice, the reason isn't because it's read only. its because when making a boot CD the boot sector (or whatever it is called) cannot be modified. you can keep adding files to your boot CD using the multisession option though.
__________________

__________________
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.