Failing to Connect - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2013, 11:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Failing to Connect

Hello everyone!


Recently I set up an "offline" router to manage a Minecraft LAN world between my girlfriend and I. However, my computer is refusing to connect to the network, claiming there is an issue. Every other machine I've connected (to be specific, a laptop and another desktop excluding hers) works fine. It's just my main computer that is an issue. My ever so nice roommate managed to get on that network today, somehow stole my IP address local to the router, and ever since I cannot connect to the router through wireless or a line in. I know this isn't a lot of information, but my gut tells me this is some painfully simple problem to fix. I've renewed my address numerous times, power cycled everything, etc. Any suggestions as to what the problem would be or how to fix it? Thanks in advance for your answers!
__________________

__________________
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 11:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,255
Default Re: Failing to Connect

Reset the router. Get into the webgui once it's reset and put a password on it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default

Did that, and nothing. I did a factory reset on the router and got my IP back. Not only that, all the problems disappeared. Thanks MGuire, I always appreciate it.
__________________
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,255
Default Re: Failing to Connect

Resetting the router with the button (usually hold in 30 seconds) is a factory default flash. Least it worked though, same concept.

For future reference, you can assign your own IP and whatnot through Windows.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default

Well I discovered there was more to it than that. "Someone" toggled a bunch of settings in the router and ****ed it up. Nonetheless I will remember that, thanks.
__________________
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,255
Default Re: Failing to Connect

The button is there just for that. Hold it in for the specified amount (whatever the manual says, usually 30 seconds) and the lights will start flashing. Most routers give a pattern and then looks like it's working fine. When you release the button it should be reset.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.