Extending wireless network

Status
Not open for further replies.

alex381

Beta member
Hi,

I currently have a wireless network in my house, but the signal strength upstairs isn't great so am trying to figure out the best way to boost the network whilst spending very little cash!

I currently have a D-Link DSL-2640R Broadband Wireless G ADSL2+ Router wired to the phone line. This is the router that currently supplies my wireless network.

I also have a spare Belkin ADSL Modem with Wirelss G Router (model# F5D7632-4).

Is there anyway I can connect the 2 so that i can have one plugged in upstairs talking to the one that connects to the internet downstairs? My PS3 is upstairs and I'm hoping to connect this to the router upstairs via an ethernet cable rather than by wireless.

I hope all that makes sense. Any questions then please ask. Please be aware that whilst I do have some knowledge of computers / networking, I'm still a novice!!!

Thanking you in advance.

If you configure the second router so that it belongs to the same network and uses the other router as its default gateway, that should solve your problems. You'll just have to make sure that you don't allow it to distribute DHCP addresses (or if you allow it, make sure it's not conflicting with the other router. E.g. first router shares DHCP pool of 192.168.1.100-150, second can go from 192.168.1.151-200)

Alternatively, the second router might have a 'repeater' mode.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. As far as I can tell neither router has the ability to be a repeater, so I think that option is out.

Sorry for possibly asking really stupid questions, but how do I configure the second router to belong to the same network as the first? and how do I make it use the first router as it's default gateway?

Thanks,