DSL house to house - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2005, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Default DSL house to house

Dont post here and say it cant be done if you have no experience with this.

Im about to buy 10 highpass filters and 2 dsl modems. My friend and i want to hook up these modems and then dial into one anothers computers. Basically we'd have our own little VPN. I dont know if that can be done but ill have to figure it out. Has anyone played with this idea before? Does it work? Im also considering having a middle man (a server). You connect to the server and then you can see all the other computers that have connected. The best part about it is I wouldnt be dam*ed to my 40KiB upload speed. Please post if youve tried.. or know how to set up a server like that.
__________________

antirem is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 09:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

So basically you want to create a sort of ISP just between yourselves? Well yes that is possible. You'll need to have some hardware like they have at the ISP though, for the other end of the DSL connection. You won't be able to do it just between two computers I don't think,t he server will be necessary because of the hardware.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 11:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

on the contrary antirem, you're friend and you cannot do that unless you can convince the phone companies you run through to take off that little low pass filter they put on everyone's phone lines...you see the phone companies actually put this on there and require you to PAY for you to take it off.....this cuts down your phone line capabilities to only talking on the phone....BLEH! so unless it was a direct line connection, then NO you cannot
__________________
Minneapolis Computer Repair http://altrepair.com
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

I don't pretend to be all that much of an expert in this, but surely your neighbour can just get a wireless router, and a signal booster, and then get yourself a wireless card and hook in?
__________________
dnoch is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,695
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dnoch
I don't pretend to be all that much of an expert in this, but surely your neighbour can just get a wireless router, and a signal booster, and then get yourself a wireless card and hook in?
That sounds more realistic. Either that or run an rj-45 under the ground to your neighbors house
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

well...lets stick to HIS concept, he's not asking if anyone knows a way to get it...he wants to know about doing it via DSL modems....and btw im the friend he's talkin about, and we live about 15 miles apart ^_^
__________________
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
NEEDS MORE DAKKA!!!
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,919
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dnoch
but surely your neighbour can just get a wireless router, and a signal booster, and then get yourself a wireless card and hook in?
Or a bit of CAT5 Cable going through some garden hose, and then bury it under the ground.

Mind you, your ISP might ingor this, but your local coucil might not.



If you are trying to set up a VPN, it's doable. However at work, we are using Server 2003 to do it with.

What are you trying to do, if it just file sharing, have you thought about setting up your own FTP.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
HP zBook 14 - Intel Core i7 4600U (2.1 - 2.7 GHz), 16GB, 512GB SSD, 14" Display, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 8+Console : Play Station 4 Pro
Harper is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 01:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

lol why are people suggesting ALTERNATIVES! XD we're looking to set it up STRICTLY through DSL modems, trust us when we say that we've indulged in other methods as well...XD
__________________
Minneapolis Computer Repair http://altrepair.com
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 02:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I've setup VPN's through Windows Server before but never through the way your doing it.

Also I know if you were to have say for example a Smoothwall Firewall box setup, you can setup a simple VPN that way between two networks
__________________
Pipez is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 02:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

This isn't far-fetched. You don't really need anything more than a long cable (if you want to think simplistic).

Practical would be a wireless setup, like suggested.

You don't need much else.

Heck, if you've both got the internet, your ISP's have done the work for you.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.