Dsl Does it Really Suck That Bad? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2004, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default Dsl Does it Really Suck That Bad?

Ok so im wondering Does DSL suck that bad i hade cable and ran up a 500$ bill i know cable modem is the best but i have to go to dsl now im paying for 1.5Mbps now will i ever be able to get that speed even if the ftp im downloading from gives it? i mean will i ever get the down im paying for ?
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to MinDFreeZ
Default

I dont understand the question.. but my dsl connection can download up to 500kbs.. just depends on the server you're downloading from.. pretty much the same as cable except for when YOU are serving.. mine uploads 15-20kbs .. which sucks. (My friend in another state has his cable uncapped, for 2 years now!!, and I download from him at 400kbs.. which is the sickest thing I've ever seen)
__________________

MinDFreeZ is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 08:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Nice! thats awsome 400k up ! im paying for 256k up :-D
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to josj15 Send a message via Yahoo to josj15
Default Just do cable

If u were talking about gettting 56k i could understand. But dude, if you have the money or will to get dsl u might as well get cable, i mean its worth it and i think the upload for cable is 300k. I might be wrong but you'll be getting you money's worth
__________________
josj15 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to MinDFreeZ
Default Re: Just do cable

Quote:
Originally posted by josj15
i think the upload for cable is 300k. I might be wrong but you'll be getting you money's worth
The last part was right, because you were wrong if they offered 300k uploads, we'd all have cable and we'd all run servers... I'd be makin some loot!!
BUT, it IS a higher upload speed, usually more than double DSL's speed.. My friend has his upload between 30 and 60kbs, sometimes u get lucky and not many people are using the bandwidth.
MinDFreeZ is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
NEEDS MORE DAKKA!!!
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,916
Default

I find that ASDL is much better value for money.

Down here, the 2 cable providers (Teltra, Optus) have just recently increased their download caps. How ever, i really don't like the idea of having a download cap that I have to worry about every month.

Like this month, my home DSL account get upgraded to 512k/128k for only another $10 per month.

The only other problem that i find with DSL over cable that it's is dependant on your phone exchange. I remember that I had all sorts of problems for the first 2 months after I got DSL 12 months ago. This was all due to the local phone exchange being really really $#!+y.

Over all, I do find that Cable is faster, but at the end of the day (or month I should say) I don't want the head ache
- of getting slowed down to a crawl on (28Kbps)
- of getting billed by the additional Mb
after my cap been breached.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
HP zBook 14 - Intel Core i7 4600U (2.1 - 2.7 GHz), 16GB, 512GB SSD, 14" Display, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 8+Console : Play Station 4 Pro
Harper is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 12:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default

In my experience it's all a matter of what company you're getting it from. Where I am there's one major cable provider and one major dsl provider. The cable provider is getting very swamped, and the network has become laggy as hell. I could barely pull off 150 k/s downloads and uploads were worse

So I switched to dsl and now I have a 1.5mbps dedicated line, both up and down. I get 500 k/s downloads, and can upload just as nicely.
__________________
Vellon is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Over here, DSL is generally a better deal, but again, like mentioned before it depends on the provider.

I currently pay $27/mo. for 1.5M/128K ADSL (with the ISP's planned free upload speed upgrade to 256K in mid-'04), and the most I can currently squeeze out of it is 1.3Mbits/sec. - there is overhead which can slow it down, along with PPPoE (though the ISP claims it boosts the connection by 6 Kbits). If you can get 80-90% of the advertised speed, you still are getting the money's worth.

Furthermore, my connection seems to be noticeably faster on Win2K than WinXP (I may think the QoS Packet Scheduler may have something to do with it, even when it's disabled), but I switched my PPPoE protocol (instead of using WinXP's PPPoE) and gained a respectable 6-10Kbps (though results may vary).

Up until a month ago, I would have said that the price for cable here was extremely horrendous for the speed they offer, they actually raised their downstream speed up from 1.8M to 3.0M, though it still remains insanely expensive for non-cable TV subscribers ($57/mo. as opposed to $44/mo. for cable TV subscribers), especially when my ISP has an offer of $45/mo. for a 6.0M/512K connection (though with a 1-year contract).

I would go for the 6.0Mbit speed, but unfortunately, being located nearly 12000 ft. from an RT makes it impossible.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Default

I like DSL, I have guaranteed speed of 510Kbps uploade and 5.1Mbps after the overhead of TCP/IP. With SBC, my ping rates are very constant, and at least for me I have not had much of any downtime.
__________________
rasputinj is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to MinDFreeZ
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vellon
So I switched to dsl and now I have a 1.5mbps dedicated line, both up and down. I get 500 k/s downloads, and can upload just as nicely.
MOTHER $%^&*.. thats crazy.. you should learn to share
__________________

MinDFreeZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.