Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2010, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

I have 3 gigabit ethernet jacks... two currently hooked up to one router. What I want to do is set one of them to a virtual machine running in vmware and then the other for my local machine. Does anybody know how I can go about doing this?
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

which software is running the vm?

vmware, virtualpc, etc

on esx, esxi, or hyper-v?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

vmware workstation 7
esx
running windows server 2008 datacenter inside the vm and windows 7 professional managing vmware.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 10:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

VMWare Workstation uses its own emulated hardware. You can't dedicate a physical port to a VM.
__________________
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

Is it possible to set windows 7 up in such a way so that all network connectivity goes to my killer 1 nic and then point the vmware application running towards 1 of the 2 onboard jacks?
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

See my previous post. The VM does not use the physical hardware that way. It emulates its own. No, you can't do what you're asking.
__________________
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

I understand that the vm emulates its hardware but the connection that is being emulated typically comes from physical hardware... in network editor (part of vmware) you can assign a specific ethernet card to the emulated vm... so if thats possible than I would think that there is a way to do what I want to do. What if I rephrased it so that for my host machinse windows 7, how can it differentiate which program uses which NIC (outside of the vm completely)? Programs can specifically be programmed to use a certain card but if not programmed I'm kinda hoping windows can take care of it? Or a third party app? Or is this still a no... and don't quote 'look at my previous posts, no you can't do what you're asking'.... enlighten me a bit.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Designating an ethernet jack to virtual machines

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroShade View Post
What if I rephrased it so that for my host machinse windows 7, how can it differentiate which program uses which NIC (outside of the vm completely)?
i think the program has to be coded to do something like this. take wireshark for instance. you pick which adapter to see its traffic.

afaik, there's no config in the os to designate a particular program to a particular adapter.

matter of a fact, i'm not even sure how the os chooses. there could be a hack here. something like disable one, start program, and then reenable nic.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend an external NAS, or external drive case with ethernet jack shortstop20 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 02-11-2010 09:24 AM
A new way of thinking thanks to virtual machines Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-28-2009 07:17 AM
Virtual software question chara33 Microsoft Windows and Software 18 06-29-2009 08:55 AM
Giveaway of the Day - Virtual Disk Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-22-2009 07:09 AM
Virtual Machine's ZeroShade Microsoft Windows and Software 7 11-08-2007 07:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.