Connecting to ISP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2009, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default Connecting to ISP

I live in an apartment complex which only has 2 cable outlets. One is in the living room where tv, phone, router and modem is located, and the other is in the bedroom. I'll have my gaming pc in the bedroom where the other cable outlet is located. So without using wireless internet and without running a cable from the modem/router from the living room across the floor to the bedroom, how do I get this pc hooked up?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Connecting to ISP

move the modem and router to the bedroom.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default Re: Connecting to ISP

I have Insight and everything is connected to one box for phone, cable, and internet.
__________________
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 11:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Connecting to ISP

If you cannot move the router then you either need to run cable or get a wireless router and wireless card for your computer.

or

there are power line ethernet options but I have never used these.
Newegg.com - Networking,More Networking,Powerline Networking,Double,
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default Re: Connecting to ISP

Okay so I'll spend the money on a wireless card I guess. My current router is a Netgear WGR614. What kind of PCI card should I get that would work well with Netgear routers? I can order from Newegg or go to a chain store and buy one. This is my gaming pc and it will be around 45-50 ft away from the router. Just let me know what will be a good choice. I can't spend much so give me a choice or two per price range from lowest to 60 bucks.
__________________
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Connecting to ISP

your router is g protocol so no real need to spend the money on a n protocol card.

Newegg.com - D-Link WDA-1320 IEEE 802.11b/g 32-bit PCI Wireless G Desktop Adapter Up to 54Mbps Data Rates 64/128-bit WEP Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) - Wireless Adapters
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting to Wireless Networks in GNOME Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 12-17-2008 06:40 PM
LAN problem? or ISP problem? Mo2112361 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 08-13-2008 07:42 AM
internet not connecting ryan7777 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 07-14-2008 01:42 PM
Test if your ISP is throttling Bittorrent Traffic Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 05-08-2008 11:10 AM
Apple Sends Takedown Notice To iPod Hacker's ISP Osiris Apple and Mac 2 09-28-2007 02:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.