Connected to the internet but internet explorer won't work??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Question Connected to the internet but internet explorer won't work???

I have a laptop which is connected to the internet (Can download Norton updates, and can use a program that has to be connected to the internet) but when i open my internet explorer it says "Page cannot be displayed". I Don't understand whats going on??? BTW, the laptop is wireless and i use a linksys wireless router (I'll never buy one again, you should be able to understand your customer support). Any advice or suggestions would be appriecated. Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

try downloading firefox or netscape.
__________________

__________________
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 02:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

go to internet explorer, click tools -> options, and click on the connections tab.

Go to LAN settings, and click "automatically detect settings".

__________________
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

I agree with tallboy, I would suggest using firefox as your default browser, sounds to me it is in your security settings. IE is the root of all evil, and more and more connectivity, and security issues are associated with it. If you like vonerabilities in your system, then continue to use IE, if not i would suggest an alternate route. No disrespect but it is made by microsoft right? Good luck to you, hope you get it all figured out.


Techtim
__________________
techtim is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

sorry his name is talldude!!! lol
__________________
techtim is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Thanks for the suggestion talldude and others! I'll try them tommorow!!!
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

ok, little problem. How can i put firefox on my laptop (the computer i'm having trouble accesing the internet with) if it won't let me on in internet explorer? I've tried saving firefox on a floppy from my desktop computer but it doesn't have enough storage space. What can i do??
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Burn it on a CD or use a flash drive. Let someone email it to you, get it off file sharing program, aim,msn.
__________________

__________________
Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.