Computer not getting wired internet? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2008, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Computer not getting wired internet?

Ok, I went to work one day and my boss called me in to ask about his home computer which seems to not be getting an internet connection through his wired modem.

So I went to his house, checked the basic things like activity lights, the cables, firewall issues, driver issues, hardware issues, and have found nothing wrong yet. Granted I didn't have anything with me to check for viruses/spamware/registry errors/etc.

What I was able to do, though, is connect to the modem from their PC. I could connect to it, and the page displayed information saying the gateway was "Connected/Open" and the internet was "connected." Then his phone line went out when I was on line with Verizon technical support, so he went to a Verizon store and they said his line went out. His phone line is back up now, but no DSL still. Oh and any/all filters were set up correctly.

Then the next day Verizon sent a technician and my boss said he brought a laptop with him and was able to connect both wirelessly and wired to the internet through his modem. Now I am really stumped. It just randomly stopped getting internet one day last week. The icon says it is connected, and I can get to the modem through the PC just fine, so obviously the cable isn't bad, nor the NIC. What could be keeping the internet from getting all the way to the PC and just stopping at the modem? I thought perhaps a MAC address filter was maybe accidentally blocking his computer, but then how would I connect to the modem to begin with?

Any ideas? He says if it doesn't get fixed soon, he will probably drop it off at my apartment to try some more thorough tests. He was going to take it to Best Buy, so I offered to look at it for free since I know Best Buy would try to take $200 from him for a 3 year old computer.

EDIT: Thanks for the move. I wasn't sure where to put it since I figured the answer probably involved the OS to some degree, but the problem involved networking.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: Computer not getting wired internet?

what happens when he tries to connect?

is it only IE or is there another browser?

can you ping the internet?
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Computer not getting wired internet?

Tried IE and Netscape which is what he had installed. When he tries to connect it says it is connected, but every browser says "Page cannot be displayed" for any webpage. He can connect to the modem and see the status, so clearly there is nothing wrong with his ethernet port or cat 5 cable. I did not try pinging, because he told me Verizon already tried and could not get through.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Computer not getting wired internet?

It's not clear from the description of the problem what the network topology looks like. Is there a router? Is he connecting wired or wirelessly? Do neither work? But they both work fine when you take your computer? And where does the line dropping out fit in? If there were actually a problem with the phone and/or DSL line, no computer would be able to connect. It simply doesn't make sense that the connection was broken and requiring the visit of a tech yet you were able to connect your computer without a problem.

The symptoms and description just don't add up.
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: Computer not getting wired internet?

im having this trouble too for my Trendnet Tew-672gr router
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Computer not getting wired internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleHelix View Post
It's not clear from the description of the problem what the network topology looks like. Is there a router? Is he connecting wired or wirelessly? Do neither work? But they both work fine when you take your computer? And where does the line dropping out fit in? If there were actually a problem with the phone and/or DSL line, no computer would be able to connect. It simply doesn't make sense that the connection was broken and requiring the visit of a tech yet you were able to connect your computer without a problem.

The symptoms and description just don't add up.
The problem is with the wired internet, and only with this computer. The line dropping out was a coincidence and since it has been fixed, the internet on this one computer still doesn't work. They sent a tech and HIS computer was able to connect (I assume both wireless and wired). I did not try any laptop of mine. It is an all-in one verizon modem/router/switch.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default

Any ideas? I just tried connecting it to a different internet service, and the same thing happens. It says "connected", but no beans. Could this be a sign of failing ethernet port?

Some more results. I tried Safe Mode, still no internet even though it says "Connected."

I tried pinging the computer, and I do get all packets to reply. But if I ping a computer FROM this one with the issues, I get no response. I ran a limited Spyware scan, and found 7 things that I removed. How can I run a virus scan with the most updated lists on this PC without an internet connection? Is there any way I can upload the list file to this computer?

EDIT: He had AVG on, but it hadn't updated the virus list file in 20 days. I ran it anyways and it gave me a kernel32.dll and a ntoskrnl.exe file which it claims are in an error state and need urgent attention to their configuration. Could this be causing the internet issues? And is there a way to repair the .dll file and this ntoskrnl.exe file?
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 09:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default

I did a quick Google of these two files:

ntoskrnl.exe is a bootup process and kernel32.dll controls memory management, interrupts, and input/output operations. What I am seeing between the process descriptions from my Google search says you may want to check for viruses and spyware intrusion. Osiris (one of the Security Mods) has a guide in the Virus forum. You could try that out.

Here is the link:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f51/sp...2008-a-165828/
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 09:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,706
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Computer not getting wired internet?

Okay, so it says 'connected'. Is it being assigned an ip address thru dhcp? If so, is that address correct?
Can the pc ping the router's ip address?
Have you tried totally disabling any firewalls running?
Can the pc ping ANY address (e.g. even it's own loopback)?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 10:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Computer not getting wired internet?

It is being assigned an IP address. I can ping the computer from any other PC on the network, but I can't ping anything from the computer with issues. I didn't try it's own loop back, though. And it originally could connect to the router/modem just fine. I disabled all firewalls. I will try doing a spyware and virus removal again if I can get updated lists without having an internet connection. I was about to give up and assume that just the ethernet port was going bad...

EDIT: A lot of the programs from Osiris's guide require internet connections to update so they can be run with the most recent updates. I won't be able to do this since the main issue is that I can't access the net. Will I need to take the hard drive out and use an external enclosure so I can scan it on my PC?
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Getting Rid Of win32/vmalum.ecvx AmySStruck72 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 32 11-24-2008 02:38 PM
A Closer Look At Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2 Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 08-28-2008 11:36 AM
A little bit about MPLS Tierzero Off Topic Discussion 0 09-13-2007 03:04 PM
Getting internet on computer SpRi7e Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 07-03-2007 03:00 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.