Comments Please - 1 modem, 2 Routers, 2 Networks? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2008, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Exclamation Comments Please - 1 modem, 2 Routers, 2 Networks?

My company needs to separate our single network into two separate networks due to splitting company. We have a dsl internet. I need to know if it is possible to do the following configuration and have it work.

1. Have the DSL Modem go into a Hub
2. Have Two Wireless Routers connected into the Hub
3. Have the routers communicate to the modem through the Hub

By doing this configuration would it be possible to share the same dsl internet while keeping two networks separated from each other?

Will there be any conflicts or problems?

Our ISP allows 1 Dynamic IP


Any feedback on this configuration would be appreciated.
__________________

MoeJoe is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default Re: Comments Please - 1 modem, 2 Routers, 2 Networks?

Ummm well first of all like you are suspecting , you only get one ip from the isp , so a hub will not work after the modem. You need something with NAT. Possibly a router in bridge mode with NAT still enabled if possible, then 2 APs plugged into the router. The APs (access points) will need to be configured in a way that they broadcast a unique SSID so that your w/s can select which to connect to. If tou have a domain with AD you possibly could create a policy to keep the user from changing the wifi settings ( trying to connect to the other network) ,,, if peer to peer the clients may roam.
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 07:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default Re: Comments Please - 1 modem, 2 Routers, 2 Networks?

..actually you could just use a router in router mode, then plug 2 APs into it with different SSIDs. ..or use the a wireless router and one AP.
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Question Re: Comments Please - 1 modem, 2 Routers, 2 Networks?

I know about computers, but networking I am a bit green on. Could you please explain a little bit more in detail. The network is a pier to pier, no server.

Thanks
MoeJoe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modem Problem Andy123 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 01-06-2008 06:28 PM
DSL modem takes smaller wire (not cat5) antiflash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-14-2007 12:41 AM
Are these wireless routers good? Segamaster222 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 07-31-2007 04:50 PM
Major lag online, possible router or modem problem? Triveria Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 07-12-2007 03:56 PM
One modem, two networks Greg Internet Software and Browsers 2 04-15-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.