Comcast users: Internet down?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg

Indeed.
How many peoples had their internet down? because ours was, and when we called to complain they said it was a national problem. If it was down any, you can call Comcast customer service and ask for credits for the number of days it was down and they'll give you your money back for those days.

ok, this morning a friend of mine told me this:

he has comcast cable internet service. it was running really really slow last night so he pinged sites like google and found that as soon as it was out of the comcast network, the ping went fast. he then went into the TCP/IP config and set the DNS servers to the ones he had with his Verizon DSL a year ago. he said that the internet then was blazing fast because no one was using the cable internet since it was "down".

so my question is this: is what he did possible? I'm not an expert but i do know a fair amount about networking and TCP/IP. I'm pretty sure DNS servers only assign your computer an IP address. so is he saying he was using a Verizon IP address? cable internet and DSL are two different types of connections to begin with. i don't think it's possible. it doesn't make any sense to me. can someone confirm that what he did isn't possible/wouldn't give him the results he said he got? if this is possible, how does that work? thx a ton for the help.

Comcast was having problems with their DNS servers. They have problems with them constantly. Ever since I was a Comcast customer I've had the problems. My main machine has a caching DNS server on it partially so I can continue to work during these problems, and partially becuase Comcast's DNS servers have been so slow for me I spend more time resolving addresses than I do downloading pages.