Can anybody help me? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2009, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Question Can anybody help me?

Hi everybody,

My wife and I just got married last Sunday and moved out to her home town in Oklahoma on Thursday and we will be staying in a mobile home next to her grandparents house for about a year and I was wondering how I could get the internet out in the trailer from the house. I just bought a brand new computer (pretty bad one too hehe) for school (and gaming ) and I was pondering on the idea of maybe a cord or something I can run from the house to the trailer which is about a good 100 to 150 feet away that could stand the outside conditions such as snow during the winter and that kind of stuff that is affordable to a newly wed couple short on money. They have a wireless linksys router, but I seriously doubt that would give any connection out there, let alone any usable connection.
Thanks for your help,

Cpt Bryan
__________________

__________________
cptbryan is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can anybody help me?

Congrats on the wedding... um, you does granny have the internet already?

If so

I think at that distance, a networkcabler, encased in a plasic tube and sealed, would run okay.

Or, you could get a directional antena and run wireless.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can anybody help me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Congrats on the wedding... um, you does granny have the internet already?

If so

I think at that distance, a networkcabler, encased in a plasic tube and sealed, would run okay.

Or, you could get a directional antena and run wireless.
Thanks man,

Yeah she does I'm using it right now lol :P
alright where would I be able to purchase any of those?
__________________
cptbryan is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can anybody help me?

The cable method would just go and get a REALLY long network cable, local computer shop, then home depot you can get some 1/2 pvc piping and fittings. then seal it with some caulking.

As for the antenna, Someone on here sells them... their called Cantennas

cantenna - Google Search
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Can anybody help me?

This is what your looking for

http://www.techist.com/forums/f40/wi...tennas-212172/
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 10:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Can anybody help me?

Yep I can do you a deal on one, thanks for the plug slay.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 02:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can anybody help me?

^ yha i was really lazy last night, and couldn't be bothered to look who it was.....
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.