Bandwidth Monitoring - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Bandwidth Monitoring

I am trying to find some software that will allow me to monitor bandwidth on my network. I have tried out some programs, but ones I have tried all require devices to have SNMP for them to be recognized by the software.

My problem is that some of the IP addresses we are trying to monitor don't have SNMP, and I can't actually get SNMP onto them. I had been told to check out a network sniffer program, but that doesn't seem to be giving me what I need. Is there anything out there that should be able to provide me bandwidth monitoring for specific IP addresses regardless of if they have SNMP or not? Any help would be much appreciated!
__________________

__________________
afisher is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.bandwidthmonitorpro.com/
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 07:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I've actually downloaded that program before. It will work to monitor bandwidth for the PC it is installed on, but it won't monitor anything else. I'm looking for something that can monitor multiple IPs on a network.
__________________
afisher is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

anyone else have any ideas as to how to do this without SNMP? or if it is even possible?
__________________
afisher is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

are there any bandwidth monitor that can work on linux??
__________________
xotix is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I'm sure there are... you can find a bunch on the web pretty easily. We run a Windows network here, but still cant figure out if we can do what we want without SNMP.
__________________

__________________
afisher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.