Bad Bandwidth/ping - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2019, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: florida
Posts: 3
Default Bad Bandwidth/ping

I have gigabit internet service through spectrum. a Nighthawk AX8 Wifi 6 router. my nighthawk app on my phone shows that the router speed tests at around 900 MBPS. i have a custom PC with a Asus Z170 motherboard. the computer is hard connected with a cat7 ethernet cable that runs about 50 feet to the pc. no matter what i do i cant get my PC to speed test higher than 300MB what do i do?
__________________

__________________
viktorvaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,662
Default Re: Bad Bandwidth/ping

All Z170 retail boards have gigabit LAN so you should be getting full speed. Have you tried updating your drivers for your LAN?
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master Mastercase H500 / Antec EA650 650W / Zotac GTX 1660 AMP
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 w/ Wraith MAX RGB / MSI B350 Gaming Plus / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / Hyundai Sapphire 480GB SSD / WD Black 750GB HDD / WD Green 1TB HDD
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: florida
Posts: 3
Default Re: Bad Bandwidth/ping

Yes all drivers show up to date when in device manager checking for automatic updates so I uninstalled them restarted, reinstalled same, tried again downloading direct from Asus and manual, same
__________________
viktorvaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: florida
Posts: 3
Default Re: Bad Bandwidth/ping

can anyone help please?
__________________
viktorvaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 9,007
Default Re: Bad Bandwidth/ping

Just curious, what are you using to test your speeds?

You mention ping, so high latency? Have you ran a tracert to see where the latency spikes?

Have you tried testing to different servers if using speedtest.net or testmy.net? Not all servers can output 1Gbit. What happens if you run multiple speedtests from different machines on your network, do you get a total of ~1Gbps on all devices combined?
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bandwidth, internet. help, networking, speed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bandwidth usage and ping? jtfunkymojo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-16-2010 03:08 AM
Can a bad outlet or bad surge protector cause a bad CPU? kidedward Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-22-2006 12:41 PM
Bad Bad Bad ManBearPig New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-17-2006 09:25 PM
A very bad bad bad extreme situation strydR_ Microsoft Windows and Software 11 11-21-2005 04:37 AM
My Bad Bad Bad Comp *ExTrEmZ* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 22 03-20-2004 05:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.