ASU Bandwidth Restrictions

Status
Not open for further replies.

papakyle02

Beta member
I've got problems. Currently I'm a freshman attending Arizona State University and living on campus. Before I moved here I was an avid online gamer, playing everything from first person shooters to massively multiplayer games. However, due to some sort of bandwidth restrictions/ port blocking (I'm rather uninformed, so I don't know what exactly to call it,) I'm stuck rotting in my room. You're probably saying, "Get out and meet some people, freak," but please, try to keep an open mind.

The problem started the first day I got here. As soon as I plugged in and turned my machine on, I was required to download a program by Perfigo called "SmartEnforcer". After minimal research I got a basic feel for what this does. It's pretty much a response to the illegal downloading and file sharing through P2P programs like Kazaa and such. As far as I understand this program helps the university to block/restrict ports, limit individual bandwidth use, and monitor the connections of campus computers (including private ones, like mine.) For the most part this is effective in preventing people from leaving programs like Kazaa on and downloading, eating up the connection, and that seems all well and good. But, it's stopping me from playing my games, and there lies my problem.

Even older games like counterstrike, which are a breeze to run and, with what little information I have, don't destroy internet connections, have large ping spikes making the game unplayable. In addition, other games like Unreal Tournament 2K4 cannot even query the master server to get a list of current games, completely eliminating the multiplayer experience. And most recently, I got the stress test for World of Warcraft, which is a massively multiplayer game, and my ping sits at a constant (and entirely ridiculous) 2000 - 10000 ms.