advanced questions about internet download and file stored on local harddrive

kenny1999

Beta member
hi

i am not a computer expert or any advanced user but I am pretty concerned about the integrity of some of the files I dowload

I am running into hard time getting a certain answer after researching on the web for some time. I hope somebody here will help.

I would like to know, when I download a file (either using browser or IDM), are the browsers or IDM programmed to check the integrity of the file they download at the end? If it is, what value do they check? MD5? or any other checksums? are there any algorithm that ensures the completeness of a file compared to the one on remote server?

I once unintentionally downloaded two identical files from the same source (identical URL)with two different browsers, during the download of the files there was no disconnections of internet, the speed was fine as well, but the two files that should be the same was actually not the same (MD5 different but with same size)
Since then, I am getting more concerned about something I never concerned about.

This is the end of my first question.

The second question is about data decay and data rot.

I don't know if these two terms are actually different but they give me an impression that they are the same thing. As long as I understand after reading some articles, data rot is something about the disk error, which could happen to removable media like DVD discs and portable harddrives. And it is said that usually within two years there are about 2% of data rot / decay for a portable harddrive. It is also said that data transmission (my understanding about this term is - copy and paste from one location to another)

On top of this information, I have some questions to ask.