accessing computer at home remotely - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2008, 04:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default accessing computer at home remotely

we have a laptop and i was wondering how to access my desktop at home from different locations.
we use wifi and linksys connections when we are away from the house.
we have a simple workgroup setup with the laptop and the desktop with a couple of shared files at the house.
the laptop has windows xp media edition and the desktop is just the basic home edition. we have cable that comes through the external modem, to the router, then ethernet connection to the desktop and the laptop is wireless. I tried remote desktop but i can't seem to get it to work. do you need a password to be able to use that? or are you even able to use it with just the home edition? i shut down the firewall and still can't get it. remote assistance is nice but i want to be able to access the files when i want to without somebody being there to accept the invite. any help would be appreciated. thanks
__________________

__________________
mlkirchgessner is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: accessing computer at home remotely

setup vpn server on a home computer - WindowsXP VPN Server

configure port forwarding on your router - i forget which ones, the article above might have them listed

setup dynamic dns - www.noip.com or DynDNS.com: DNS Hosting, E-mail Delivery, VPS Hosting and Other Services

setup vpn client on remote computer using the dns name as ip address - WindowsXP VPN Client




you will be connecting to your home network via a VPN connection. you can do anything as if the machine you are working on was in the same location as your home network. You could run TightVNC: VNC-Based Free Remote Control Solution for remote admin, if needed. You can do file sharing through my network places.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: accessing computer at home remotely

Logmein would work - it is free too.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 07:47 PM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-18-2007 11:09 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 10:09 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 07:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.