Would like to learn about linux - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Linux and Open Source
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 03:05 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Both AMD and Intel run Linux just fine, I have used AMD and Intel for Linux.
__________________

algu7344 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
NIN
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 202
Default

AMD is less evil! LOL
__________________

__________________
A+, Network+, and powerpoint certified

Studying Linux+
NIN is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,297
Default

You can also check out http://www.lowfatlinux.com/ for some introductions to Linux and some basic lessons and such.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:37 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
You can also check out http://www.lowfatlinux.com/ for some introductions to Linux and some basic lessons and such.
I read the first 9 segments from Lesson 1 and 2 on Linux.org today and it looks somewhat complex and/or confusing.

Actually, the most confusing thing is that every site I attempt to download Linux from doesn't work. It freezes my browser for a few seconds to a few minutes, and when it finally takes me to the FTP site, I get an error message when I try to copy the files.

--
Dell Dimension 8200 Mobo
P4 2.0 GHz 400 MHz FSB
512 MB PC800 (2x 256 MB)
80 GB HD
Samsung CD-RW/DVD-ROM
nVidia GeForce 4MX420
SB Live! Value
XP Pro SP2
patrickc284 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 06:05 PM   #25 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,297
Default

You need the ISO files. Download them and then burn them as an image to a CD.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-28-2005, 11:13 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

There are certain things you should watch out for. As people have said, NVIDIA is easier to get working than ATI.

Be careful with soundcards. Look up specific compatibility first on that.

Also, if you're getting a WiFi card, note the chip it's based on. DO NOT...I repeat...DO NOT get anything based on the TI ACX_100. It is possible to get working, but not easily, and I found it to be an unstable connection when it was. I changed that card pretty quickly. PRISM is a well supported chip. Broadcomm chips which I've found quite popular in wireless cards (many D-Links use them I believe), are doable with something called Ndiswrapper, which I've found works very well (this post will be sent through its connection momentarily ).

Other then that, hard drives, cdrom drives, CPUs, mainboards, all should work without issue.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 11:16 AM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by qiranworms
Be careful with soundcards. Look up specific compatibility first on that.
Alright. Do you know off-hand whether ChainTech cards are good? If I build one, I'm just gonna use a cheap ChainTech 6-channel card.
patrickc284 is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 12:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

I've been reading the article on How to Partition and Format a Hard Drive In Windows XP and the one problem I've run into is that I don't know what drivers I need to backup.

I have drivers for my sound and video cards, but I don't have drivers for things like my HD, my CPU, or my CD-RW drive. Do these even need to be backed up? And if so, how do I do that?

It also mentioned drive overlay software. I don't know what that is, or whether it would be a concern of mine. I'm not sure if I can find out either because I only have a serial number for my HD (WDC800BB-75CAA0), not a manufacturer or anything.
patrickc284 is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 12:09 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

you wont need drivers for HD,CPU, or optical drives

I dont mean to warn you away from linux, but you are at this point lacking some basic PC knowledge that you will have to have if you want to run linux
horndude is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 12:34 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I say just install Linux and see what happens. That's what I did when I first found out about it.

If you want to make partitions, then a good piece of software is PartitionMagic. I'm not sure how much it costs though. A lot of Linux distributions have partition managers included in the installation anyway.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.