Ubuntu to replace XP

IntelFanboy417

In Runtime
Hey guys,
So my dad's computer is from 2004 and still running Windows XP. Windows desperately needs re installed after all the crap thats got gunked up in there. Since windows XP will no longer be supported soon, and since my dad lost his installation CD I was considering just downloading Ubuntu. Could Ubuntu act as a replacement to XP? How different is the interface compared to XP? Are there lots of driver issues and can it run on older machines? Thanks, and sorry, I'm a linux noob. :p

Also if it helps his spec's are:
Dell Dimension 3000
1.5 gb of RAM
Pentium Processor @ 3.00 ghz
(I know its old but he only uses it for web browsing so no need to buy a whole new PC)
Thanks in advance guys!

I'd take a look at Linux Mint Cinnamon -- its default interface is much more like Windows. (and has an Ubuntu base (Debian based), meaning it can use .deb packages, which are essentially packaged installers for files (much like a .exe installer in Windows).

Everything should actually work better out of the box than Windows ever did. Just run a few commands on first boot...

Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
Then
Code:
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
Those will refresh package lists, update programs, and install restricted codecs (video, audio, etc)

There's, of course, many options on the table in the Linux world. Personally I am hesitant to put Mint on anyone's computer because it's pretty much a guarantee I'll have to work on it again. Why? Because of their lack of upgradability from one version to another. There's no alternative besides doing a fresh install. As a result, I'd stick to Linux Mint 13 (the current LTS), which will still benefit from Cinnamon 2.0 as it will be (or already is?) backported. Since Mint 13 is an LTS it has a far longer supported life cycle, unlike the other Mint versions.