Ubuntu Error 17

Status
Not open for further replies.

murdocsvan

Web Programmer
I have an EEEPC 1000HE which has two partitions on it. The first partition had XP, and then i installed Ubuntu onto the second partition. I'm no expert, but i think Ubuntu overwrote the XP bootsector with the GRUB bootsector. Not knowing much about it, i wanted to uninstall Linux, convert the Ext3 partition back to NTFS and install windows 7.

When i did this (using norton partition magic), i rebooted, and found the Following error message appear on my screen:

GRUB Loading stage1.4.

GRUB Loading, please wait...
Error 17
_

Since then i've tried lots of things, including creating a boot flash drive, but that still comes up with the same error.

I should also note that my netbook does not have a CD drive.

Does anyone have any idea how i can restore the bootsector?

i wouldnt recomment an application like norton watever to do such a thing, and i dont think there should be any problem of doing a dualboot xp and linux. well I have 3 OS in 1machine on my p4 machine. uninstalled ubuntu reboot my machine without having any issues.

ubuntu
windows xp
windows 7

a bootsector where you can create a recov disk? if so i dont think there's a way to recover it or restore it since you can only do so once per machine.

i wouldnt recomment an application like norton watever to do such a thing, and i dont think there should be any problem of doing a dualboot xp and linux. well I have 3 OS in 1machine on my p4 machine. uninstalled ubuntu reboot my machine without having any issues.

ubuntu
windows xp
windows 7

a bootsector where you can create a recov disk? if so i dont think there's a way to recover it or restore it since you can only do so once per machine.

What on earth are you talking about? Did you even read my post? Gah, wish people would speak english on these forums.