TV/Linux Mod

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok. So I am taking the TV to a TV Repair place for them to gut it, so that step is taken care of. I was hoping to find a flat screen 13" monitor but they don't seem to be in any abundance. The laptop idea is a good one, but I'm not sure I want to do any soldering. If I can hook up the VGA cable, isn't that enough? Is it because usually laptops only have VGA out and not in?

Also, I should be able to fit a full sized motherboard in the case, so I don't think I need one of those super mini ones.

you won't actually be using the laptop though hence why I said by one that is being sold for parts not one that actually works...... It is very easy to connect a vga cable to a screen controller card but you will have to solder it. What is your budget for the mini-itx pc that is going to power it???

I know I won't be using the actual laptop, but soldering is something that I have no experience with whatsoever, so I was thinking of trying to avoid it. So if soldering is the only way that a laptop screen will work, I'll probably try to find another way.

Also, I really don't see the need for mini-itx or whatever. I don't see any reason that a full sized motherboard won't fit in the case, because this isn't going to be a super high-powered machine. It's an experiment and something to fool around with for a while. Cheap parts are the name of the game.

well mini-itx is cheap and low end but small lol I wasn't thinking you were going to stick a Q6700 and 2gb ram with a 8800gtx just because your bored.