Sound

Status
Not open for further replies.

laxflip87

Beta member
Hey everyone. I am new to linux and I currently am having some problems. I hope some of you folks will be able to help me. I am using a Toshiba Protege 7020CT (i know its old but im currently poor) I got linux installed and everything is working but i have no sound. I cant even hear system sounds. Any ideas or am I just dumb.

without knowing what sound hardware it uses nobody will be much help

go here:http://www.tuxmobil.org

navigate to notebooks/toshiba and look it up

look like it uses an es1978 maestro sound and ALSA will work with it, try running alsaconfig as root and see what happens

open a terminal window or use the console and login as root, then type alsaconfig and hit return, follow the prompts and answer the questions

alright um i went into my console and started a root session typed in my password and i typed alsaconfig and i got nothign it said it doesnt exist would u perhaps know where this file is how i can find it or where perhaps i can download it.. also i noted this my linux version is tryign to use es1968 istead of es1978 which is the number tagged to my card on my hardware list where can i download jus es1978

I have no clue what flavor of linux your using nor anywhere near enough info to be much help.You need to find out what hardware exactly your using and exactly how your distro of linux deals with sound issues.I cant imagine a linux distro these days not using ALSA, its pretty standard.Combine that with the fact your a complete newbie Im not sure what to tell you, I could type out 30 pages of stuff and it still wouldnt help you.

Try this, open this file with an editor as root: /etc/rc.d/rc.modules

scroll thru that and see if your sound hardware is listed in the sound section, if so, uncomment the appropriate line and reboot.Not sure what else to try at this point.

Laptops can be tricky to deal with.