Red Hat 9 ISO burn

Status
Not open for further replies.

TeLeMuNdO!

In Runtime
i'm trying to burn the Red Hat 9 ISO folders, i downloaded here http://www.linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=7, in Nero, but it's not working. this is my first time trying to burn an ISO, and i'm probably doing something wrong. whenever it asks me to select my ISO file, what do i select? i search through all the folders of the downloaded ISOs, but i can't find any compatible files. I thought i would just select the whole folder and burn it to a cd, but that doesn't work. can somebody help me out?

folders? no, ISO's are files such as this-is-a-file.iso. you need to download the ISO file and burn it on CD.

well, i downloaded those 3 disks in the link, and each one of them is like a winRAR archive...did i download the wrong thing?

What's inside the winRAR archive? Hopefully, it is a file that has .iso for an extension. Then in Nero, when burning, select disc image.

i burned just the unzipped file, and that appeares to be working. when i unzipped it, it was a bunch of files and folders....

yea, WinRar can open ISO files so you can view its contents. but you did right. you burn the ISO file as one. have fun using Linux!

Yea Red hat nine is 3 disks, so three different ISO files. Even though that file may look like a WINRAR file, it's just cause WINRAR can open it. But nero should recognize the file as an ISO. SO just run NERO, and select the option "Burn CD from ISO image" this will unzip the files automatically, and write them to a CD. But there are 3 CDs, just make sure u label which one is which. Red Hat is fun, but different in it's file system. But if you use it for a while, you will understand it. I am planning on installing LINDOWS, which is another Linux based operating system. And if you enjoy linux, then search on google for PHLAK. its a linux based OS that runs off the CD. it's really cool. Check it out.