Partitioning problems installing Ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cloudz

Baseband Member
I've recently been trying to install Ubuntu on this PC, and everytime I try I hit a roadblock during the partitioning phase. The computer is a year-old Sony Vaio with a 200GB ATA HD (6 gig swap partition, windows is installed on the other 193 gig partition).

Usually, this is what happens --

Try to have the installer resize the 193GB partition (Partition 2). A prompt comes up asking how much space to use either in GB or percent. No matter what I enter, the resize always fails. I just want to use about 40-45 GB of that particular partition.

There are also something like four (if I recall right) options at the partition screen: Guided Partitioning, Help Partitioning, and two manual partitioning options. However, being a newb, I'm a bit weary of doing it manually - this PC is used by more than just me, and there a good number of games and programs that get used regularly by everyone else. I just want to see how Ubuntu will run on a better PC (I have another that's just an Ubuntu machine, with no internet connection and crappy specs).

Sorry if I didn't provide enough detail..
I just want to figure out how to partition this PC without screwing anything up. >__<

6 gig swap partition? 512mb is fine for that, you will need 3gigs minimum for ubuntu, 10gigs would be a better minimum

I dont think ubuntu will resize a partition, just create some from existing blank space, you will have to resize your partition for windows in windows using a program specifically for that I believe. Linux cant write ot NTFS to begin with, but it can read from it.

horndude said:
6 gig swap partition? 512mb is fine for that, you will need 3gigs minimum for ubuntu, 10gigs would be a better minimum