Newbie seeks feedback

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ares

In Runtime
I'm totally new to Unix and Linux and will be purchasing several books on the subject within the week, but i'd like to get some of your own opinions... from people who have worked with linux/unix and those who are still learning...

What, in your own opinion, is a good reliable (and fairly easy to use/experiment with), version of unix for a beginner like myself to start with? What versions did you start with? What do you like the most? And why? I'd like any feedback on this topic, as it'll help me in my own course of studies. Thanks.

:cool:

Hmm. Thanks for the reply, Oberjaeger, i don't think i've come across Debian before. I'll have to check that out. I have had my eye on SuSe and Redhat. I agree with what you said about the learning process slowing down and using wizards. I've always prefered doing things myself (manually without wizards). I learn best that way.

What would be best for running a webserver/email server/chat server? If you had to pick just one? And why?

Again, i'm totally new... although i'm sure i'll form my own answers to these questions over the course of the next few weeks/months as i delve more into the subject.

Thanks again for the reply.

Well you've been really helpful, Oberjaeger. I'm glad someone isnt afraid to voice their opinion on the topic... seems everyone else is quiet!

I dont see any "pro-foo, anti-debian flames" commencing... yet.

You completely lost me with talk of RPMs but i'm sure i'll find out what that is soon enough (sucks being new to stuff... but then again it's also a somewhat magickal time... i remember when the internet was new to me... ahh i miss those days!).

As a general rule i've always been weary of software that comes out and quickly puts out a high number of releases.... version 9.0, version 10.0, version 11.9... LoL. So yeah, i know what you mean about Debian 3.0.

I have heard of Knoppix.

Clear text passwords??