New to Linux...Which distro?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fully Optimized
Hello, I would like to try out Linux, but I have no idea what distro to get. There are so many of them it's really confusing. The things I would like to see in Linux are as follows:

*Easy to use
*Free
*Needs a good looking GUI
*Needs to be compatiable with most Linux apps
*Fast

Are there any distros like that? Which ones do you guys recommend to me, remember, I have never used Linux before.

Easy to use: take a look at fedora core, mandriva, ubuntu, suse, lindows
free: all of the above except lindows and suse
good looking GUI: when you look at feature list, two more popular GUIs are Gnome and KDE, personal preference of the two is KDE..
Compatiable: linux should be compatiable with most linux apps right?
fast: they should be fast, but define what you mean :D

By fast I mean like it operates fast, I have heard that certian distros are faster than others, like gentoo (i think) is very very fast, but its very very hard to set up.

well, i know what fast means, i want to know what hardware you have, if your computer can handle windows xp smoothly, you can handle all the said distro without any problems :D

furtivefelon said:
Easy to use: take a look at fedora core, mandriva, ubuntu, suse, lindows
free: all of the above except lindows and suse
good looking GUI: when you look at feature list, two more popular GUIs are Gnome and KDE, personal preference of the two is KDE..
Compatiable: linux should be compatiable with most linux apps right?
fast: they should be fast, but define what you mean :D

SuSE is Free...

Anyways, SuSE is very good for beginners because you can use YaST to do alot of the hard work.

Mandrake 10.1 IMO is a pain because it's always giving me grief and never starts the the GUI.

Those are the only ones I have tried and I must say that I like SuSE 9.3 (Free) the most.