Linux v.x. FreeBSD

Status
Not open for further replies.

technologic101

Beta member
Anyone know how much different of FreeBSD from Linux? I've been using Linux for over 5 years, but am now trying to switch to FreeBSD because of its advantages over Linux.

I'm getting my own dedicated server and look into freebsd. appreciate your advice. thank you.,

Linux is an offshoot of Minix, which is an offshoot of the Unixes of the late 80's-early 90's. It's true to oldschool Unix in lots of ways, but the BSDs are much more faithful to the originals from way back in the day. Binary support is completely different (of course as in a linux binary won't work for BSD), as well as many filesystem/directory structure parts. But they're still very similar. Linux is complicated, yes, but some distros are a little bit simpler than, say, tooling with OpenBSD. If I'm wrong at all, anyone feel free to correct me :)

linux is NOT a offshoot of unix.. and omg, Minix is in design before unix is ever conceived.. unix is produced because they think minix too complex (read some more history before posting please?)

linux is designed by linus to be "like" unix, whatever that meant, it based on no unix code.. though, current kernel has alot of freebsd copyright notices..

freebsd is based on berkeley unix.. so it's a true unix, and linux is just trying to imitate unix.. a good way to think about it is, bsd is made by unix hacker to be unix, and linux is made by windows hacker to be like unix.

there are several fundamental differences, freebsd community is violently hostile to new distros, as they think it distracts from the main branch.. there is a new distro of freebsd that's supposedly more userfriendly, PCBsd, but if you search on bsdforums.org, you'll see the typical attitudes of freebsd community :D