Linux OS

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike314

Solid State Member
I'm thinking of building a PC and I was thinking of using linux for the OS, Fedora Project. But i'm new to linux.

Got some questions:

1. Linux is free right? Why arent more people using since its free

2. If i just get a blank HD and install linux on boot, then it will be my primary
and only OS

3. Is it possible to use windows media player, Real player, and Quicktime on Linux?

4. Is the threat from virus' and spyware higher since linux is open source? or is it lower?

thanks

mike314 said:
1. Linux is free right? Why arent more people using since its free

Because Microsoft has a monopoly.

mike314 said:
2. If i just get a blank HD and install linux on boot, then it will be my primary
and only OS

No, you can dual boot.

mike314 said:
3. Is it possible to use windows media player, Real player, and Quicktime on Linux?

No, but the codecs are available for playing those media types. Real player has a player for Linux, but it's not that great.

mike314 said:
4. Is the threat from virus' and spyware higher since linux is open source? or is it lower?

thanks

There are no viruses for Linux, you don't have to worry about any of that spyware/trojans/etc.

1) For all intents and purposes it is free. Why more people don't use it is the subject of many debates. Once you get into it I'm sure you'll see why for yourself.

2) Yes? Was that a question?

3) WMP: no. Real Player: I think there is a linux version. Quicktime: don't think so. There are media players that play most (all?) media files you will run into. Xine, Totem, etc. Look around, there are plenty of alternatives.