Linux installation - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Linux and Open Source
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2004, 10:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

i have 1 last question, if i wana install linux on my os HD, should i creat an other primary partition, or an extended one?
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

If Suse does it for you, you wont need to make one, if not you will need a primary partition which will type 83, and a swap partition which will be type 82, make the swap twice as big as your ram up to 256mb.Use fdisk or cfdisk to do that, probably wont be able to do it until after the Suse setup boots up from the cdrom.
__________________

__________________
horndude is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

alright, suse does all that for me. Thanks
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ok i have installed suse on my pc, i rebooted,and it went in windows, i cant boot in linux. How can i do this?
I installed on 11 gig and 1 gig swat, it was auto chosen my suse
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

No clue, not sure how windowsXP boots or where grub is installed, if grub is accessible from windows you should be able to change it or edit it........see whats listed under c:\, also check the autoexec.bat file if windowsXP uses that.

Does Suse have a "live version" that runs off the CD without using the hard drive, if so you can definitely track down where the grub.conf file is and edit it using that.

When you boot from the CDROm what options does Suse give you?If there's a boot configure option, use it.
__________________
horndude is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ok this is what i did. Installed suse on hda3 and hda2 is swap. xp is on hda1
Grub is installed on boot sector, meaning hda3? so i cant look at it from windows. No i dont have live one, and when i put boot cd, i get asked boot from HD, install, manual install, and useless stuff i cant remember. Maybe something in the bios?
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

try boot from hardrive and see what it does
__________________
horndude is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Also, I dont suppose Suse had you make a a rescue floppy during the install did it?
__________________
horndude is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

nope y?
Its installed, i just dont have the option to boot,
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

i also have restor option when i boot up with the suse cd, could that be of any help?
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.