linux help

Status
Not open for further replies.

bonbon

Beta member
hi i got a problem booting linux

i am a bit of a newbie

heres the problem

i got this old computer from a freind and it has linux on it but i dont know what version it is and it keeps restarting when it says
loading linux.....

i have downloaded RIP disks rescue and when i run "to boot linux partion" and it gets to the log in then trys to contact a kdc sever, i have deleted the password the hard going into midnight commander, and i have tryed to find the file that contains the kdc information.

any help would be good

Is the data on the computer that important? Either or i would consider backing up anything u would want to save and installing a new version of linux. If you havn't already go to www.distrowatch.com or look at some other threads in this section for good distros to use.Another alternative would be to use a live cd; it boots a full linux os directly from cd or flash drive,allowing you to back up files or change files on the hard drive.

thanks for the reply

i was thinking about reinstalling, i have downloaded mandriva 10.2 but it was the wrong one and i dont think they suport my crapy computer - intel pentium mmx 200mhz 64mb ram, if you have any sugestions to what on i should get that would be good. and i was thinking about installing linux on my other system but i dont want to mess it up as it is my main computer and i use it for work - athlon xp amd 2400 gigabyte k7 motherboard 1gb ram 240gb hard disc setup in raid0 - do you thnk i would need the raid drivers to uninstall the hard drives and what version should i go for with my main computer

thanks bonbon

for your older system i would reccomend damn small linux. It comes as a livecd but can be installed to your hard drive or usb pendrive,and its only 50mb!! Puppy Linux is also a good choice it has gone through a lot of development recently.