Installing MPlayer in Ubuntu 5.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

experiencethis

Baseband Member
Ok, I just installed Ubuntu 5.1 and I was wondering how do I go about installing things, like Mplayer for different things. Just wondering if EVERYTHING has to be done in the terminal. Also how do I change my login to a higher account in the terminal.

most of the time you get type

sudo apt-get install [program]

but you'll need to ad the nerim sources to get mplayer to install through apt, google can get those for you :)

and to search you can do apt-cache search foobar

mplayer is something that really needs compiled from source with the options you want to use, apt-get will work though, but then your using the options someone else thinks is needed..............with all the things mplayer can do, I think compiling it is the best way to go

hmmm.....well is there some kind of simpler program i could learn to install first, because, Im new to this and dont get any of it. Also, another prob Im having is trying to install through the terminal, when you need root priveleges. I type in "su root" it asks for the password and i give it the correct one and it says authentication failed. I dont understand, because this is the password I give to everything else that requires root priveleges.

experiencethis said:
O wow, Im learning already. LOL. thanx.
Same here, bud. Still learning Linux. :D

I'm pretty sure sudo -i gives you root privileges. :confused: Anyone want to verify for me?

experiencethis,

If you wish to use the root account in more traditional UNIX fashion, you can set the root password by typing sudo passwd root . This will allow you to use su or login as root on the console.
If you need a shell with root privileges, run sudo -s .
All uses of sudo will require the user's password.

As for Mplayer, Horndude is right it is somthing that needs to be compiled, follow the Link bellow:

http://linuxhelp.blogspot.com/2005/12/essential-house-keeping-in-ubuntu.html