Installing Americas Army v2.2.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Musjunk22

Daemon Poster
I'm fairly new to the linux scene and I need help installing the game Americas Army v2.2.1 (linux) www.americasarmy.com

I downloaded the file which was 737.8MB and had the .sh extension. When I click on it all it does is open up KWrite and it doesn't do anything, Can anyone help me? I googled everywhere for help but none...

Also I installed Team Speak 2 but when I click on the teamspeak.bin file nothing happens again. (.bin stands for binary right? is that the windows equivelant of a .exe file?) Also I edited the teamspeak.sh file to replace the %instalpath% line with the directory I installed it in like the readme said, why won't it work? www.goteamspeak.com

If it helps I have SuSe 9.2

open a terminal and type ./<filename>.sh , it may need you to be root to install it, if so, su to root then type ./install.sh or whatever the install script is named

bin file is similar, try sh teamspeak.bin or whatever its called, if that doesnt work try exec teamspeak.bin

oh ya, in KDE a terminal is probably called konsole, icon looks like a pic of a monitor

linux isnt all point and click, learn commandline skills, they some in handy :)

horndude said:
linux isnt all point and click, learn commandline skills, they some in handy :)
Thanks for the tip

okay I open the terminal and type in exec /home/Matt/Documents/Downloads/armyops221-linux.run which is the path of the file I need to install but it says permission denied. Same goes for the teamspeak.bin file. Does the file need to be in the root folder? I can't open the root folder because it says: "You don't have permissions to access this folder"

BTW I think I made an error I said the file was a .sh but it is a .run

I really don't get all this stuff as I'm really new to linux can you give me step by step instructions on how to do this? or are there any really good tutorials for doing stuff like this on the net that you know of?