I need Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Linux and Open Source
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2005, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Default I need Help

Some how i got Ubuntu and window xp installed on my computer and i've only installed linux on my old dell labtop. Well, I have run into some snags. Ubuntu didn't recognize my ethernet and sound card. I was able to download the drivers for them. However, I get a message when logging into the Gnome desktop " saying how it can't get on the internet and Gnome might not funtion correctly". Its true because i can't get into the root terminal and all adminstration tools. If anyone could help me out i would appreciate it. Also, when we get the first thing figured out. I would like to find a good book that can tell me how to compile. I have to compile the device drivers into the kernal and i don't have a clue..Thanks

Linux newbie
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=197\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" title=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/products/firefox/upgrade_1_5_125x125r.jpg\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=180\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_large.png\"/></a>
Antec Lanboy
Intel 925XCV
Intel P4 2.8Ghz
1024 Crucial DDR2 4200
Seagate 160GB
Seagate 250GB
ThermalRight XP-90C
Dual Boot with Windows XP Professional and Ubuntu Linux
sjpritch25 is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well you should try to log in as root. And install from there. Or try the network wizard.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Default

You know what is wierd is that i can't log in as admistrator. Unless i am in the recovery mode.. For some reason i can't log in as root. However it excepts my log in and password in recovery mode. I don't understand that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=197\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" title=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/products/firefox/upgrade_1_5_125x125r.jpg\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=180\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_large.png\"/></a>
Antec Lanboy
Intel 925XCV
Intel P4 2.8Ghz
1024 Crucial DDR2 4200
Seagate 160GB
Seagate 250GB
ThermalRight XP-90C
Dual Boot with Windows XP Professional and Ubuntu Linux
sjpritch25 is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

are you sure you made a user name and password?
If worst comes to worst jsut reinstall it.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 07:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

You will have to allow root to log in some settings with GDM in Gnome. It is for security reasons.

A easy way to get around it is when GDM comes up, in one of the menus you can go to text mode. Login as root there, and then type "startx". Now you are root in gnome.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Unable to login as root with ubuntu is one of its biggest downfalls.

To log in as root user do:

Security Tab -> Options -> Allow root to login with GDM (Checked)

To log in as root via the console do:

sudo -s -H
Password: <specify user password>
__________________

__________________
coops563 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.