how can I open my dvd drive to continue install ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

illnastyimpreza

In Runtime
ok so I'm installing WoW on my new rig that I installed linux on. This is my FIRST time running Linux... when the game tells me I need to insert disc 2, the computer tells me a program is preventing unmount of the drive or something...

How do I get the dvd drive OPEN so I can continue installation ??

Linux is WIERD !

It sounds like it's still reading the CD despite the game telling you it needs CD2. Whenever something is preventing to be unmounted, it means that it's still being used by another process.

Try opening your home directory (Places - Home). On the left side, all of your media (cd rom drives, dvd rom drives, and hard drives) are listed. Find your DVD drive to which WoW is in and hit the check box circle thing on the right side. That is to "unmount" the DVD. Give that a shot and see if unmounting it you have any luck.

EDIT: I downloaded the game from online, and now have no idea how to get it running...I am a Linux NEWB !

ok I gave up on the CD install, and just downloaded the game from the blizzard website. Its all downloaded, ready to go. I double click the exe to start the game, and it loads all messed up, the graphics are TOTALLY un recognizable, then it quits with an error about memory or someething ???

I'm totaly new to linux and have NO idea exactly how I'm sapposed to run programs...

when I am running a windows program do I need to install it in a special place, and open it with WINE only ?? Can I NOT just double click it to open ?

Right click the file and go to properties, then open with tab. Is it trying to open with wine?

You have to understand, Linux is completely different than Windows. .Exe's are made for Windows specifically. If you go to a Mac it'll have no idea what you're trying to do. Linux however has an emulator style program known as Wine, which I'm sure you're well aware of.