Debian Squeeze

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megatron

Destroyer of headlines
So I am new to Debian. After a lifetime with Windows I have finally found that I must move on and figured open source is the way to go. It may have taken me far to long to realize the downside of using such software as Windows, but it finally happened. I know I will have to keep Windows installed for those times when I must use the software that I know that I cant seem to find a replacement for in Debian, at least at this time. Being newer to the open source scene I have yet to find everything I need to replace the software I have used daily for so long.

My main problem, finding the codec needed to play my MP3 and other music files! I have to test somethings out with that as of yet. It is still scanning my library as I type this so I don't know for sure if it will play my song files or not. Still trying to get Evolution to retrieve my mail. For some reason it just never gets it! UGH. Doesn't matter if I set it up for IMAP or POP the thing will just not connect to my mail accounts when I know the passwords are correct.

But then again, it has only been a few hours. I know I still have to give it more time and basically read the book that is the documentation on Debian. Something that I am not looking forward to. After I finally get all that done, I have to setup my Samba to share my Music drive with the spouse.

So for now I am kinda enjoying my freedom from the Windows World. It will take some getting used to and a lot more reading than I have time for. But I need to make the switch now before I am totally drawn into the Dark Side. Right now there is still hope for this Jedi...

Welcome to the Linux world, man! While I am still wearing my Windows life jacket and taking a dip into the Linux pool, it is good to know. In case Win 8 is as it seems, a failure.