A couple questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LAKings_Fan

Solid State Member
Hello everybody. I just got done building my first computer. I have been using windows for a couple weeks now, but would love to get into Ubuntu and anything Linux. I have zero experience in the subject. I did get some advice on the subject from a very helpful kSod on a different thread. Just thought I would post this in the correct forum. Pretty much I am looking for any books, blogs/forums (other than this site), and tips. Since anything to do with Linux is super customizable and has thousands of different ways of doing things I am looking for some tips from experienced users. Anything from installation to security. Anything helps.
I just wish there was a book I could purchase. I don't care about the price.

Also a more specific question. I currently have a 500GB hard drive with windows 7 on it. Other than that its pretty much empty. I have a decent machine, spent about $1,200 on it. So should I just use the live dvd, install ubuntu along side windows, or purchase another hard drive to put unbuntu on. Thanks in advance for any answers.

In my experience, no book is needed. There are several guides online how to do just about anything. I have 3 books on Ubuntu. I barely read each of them. Just looked in the index, found what I needed, back on the shelf. About the best site to learn on is Ubuntuforums.org. For Ubuntu specifics.

The best way to learn, is try. Start with the simple edits, and then go into the more advanced, and learn terminal.

I'm sure Jayce can elaborate on this. ;)

Just create a separate partition, and load Ubuntu onto it. That way, if you ever want to get rid of Ubuntu, you have lost nothing.