Configuring Windows XP bootloader - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Linux and Open Source
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default Configuring Windows XP bootloader

Hey everyone,

I recently reformatted one of my drives and lost my boot loader in the process. I have Fedora Core 4 installed one my second hard drive but I can't boot it because my previous boot loader (Grub) is gone. Does anyone know how to configure the XP boot loader to start Fedora? I haven't used the XP boot loader I usually use Grub or BootMagic.

Thanks

GrayWolf
__________________

GrayWolf is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Possibly on the installation cd you can reinstall grub.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 07:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah i would check that but unfortunately i don't think FC4 allows you to install grub without installing the OS.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 46
Default

There are a few different ways; I will go from easiest to hardest and let you choose.

1. Boot from a Knoppix cd or any other LiveCD that loads linux that way. Then mount your Fedora root partition and chroot into it (chroot /mnt/fedora where /mnt/fedora is where you mounted yoru Fedora partition). This puts you into your Fedora system. Then run grub again and type this: root (hdx,y) where x is the drive number (0 based) and y is the partition number (again, 0 based). So if Fedora is on /dev/hdb3, then it would look like root(hd1,2). Then type setup (hd0) to install it in the master bootrecord. Then type quit. You may also have to edit your grub.conf file to add lines to boot Windows.

2. Use CD 1 from most any Linux distro. This will load their installer, but you can switch to a different terminal (Ctrl + Alt F2 for example) and run similar commands to the above.

3. Use the Windows boot manager. In this case, you still need to access grub, as you have to feed it the first 1024 bytes of your grub.conf I believe. It's been a long time since I tried this way, so I could be way off on that (but I know it needs part of a file from linux).
jhunholz is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 12:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

I figured it was something like that, thats the only way I have ever gotten it to work again.

Thanks for your replies.

-Graywolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.