What is the best way to get into the IT Field?. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Technology Careers and Education
Click Here to Login

Old 04-04-2019, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default What is the best way to get into the IT Field?.

What is the best way to get into the IT Field?.(I'm thinking IT Support)
Should I volunteer to get experience, get CompTIA certifications, go back to school?.
I'm currently studying for the CompTIA ITF+ certificate and I want to save money up for the CompTIA A+ certificate. Are there any other ways to get into the IT Field?.

Old 04-04-2019, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker

Default Re: What is the best way to get into the IT Field?.

Help Desk support, starting at tier 1. Not all places require credentials to get in (some do - check what's available in your area and see what their requirements are).

CompTIA A+ etc. certs can be a resume line-item and get you an interview, but not necessarily required. Volunteering would get you some experience and you could always add that on your resume, which would help get into the field.

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0ilyy View Post
What is the best way to get into the IT Field?.(I'm thinking IT Support)
Should I volunteer to get experience, get CompTIA certifications, go back to school?.
I'm currently studying for the CompTIA ITF+ certificate and I want to save money up for the CompTIA A+ certificate. Are there any other ways to get into the IT Field?.