IT Terminology

Ms.Tech

Solid State Member
Hello Everyone,
To say I am new to the IT world would be a lie. So, lets say, I am knew to perusing a career in the IT field. I currently have a part time position at an IT helpdesk but there isn't a possibility of it becoming more then just a part time position but every time I look at other possible jobs they all require this certification. My problem is that I know a good bit of the material covered on A+ but I lack terminology. Any suggestions for picking up on terminology quickly?

A+ in my opinion is worthless. Any IT professional worth anything should be able to pull apart a PC and fix it. Study for the Network+ and Securtiy+, You want to learn terminology? Network+ is the cert for you lol. The whole test and all the study books are nothing but IT related Terms. OSI, MPLS, TCP/IP, UDP, VPN, VLAN, MAN, WAN, LAN, etc.

A+ and Net+ are nothing but terminology and troubleshooting IMO. There is no easy way of going around this. Create some flash cards, but a computer for dummies book are your only two options IMO.

Any A+ book or Net+ book would have all of the termonologies (or most) that you would need to pass any class. ProfessorMesser.com also has a ton of free material on both exams.

There are no shortcuts and any shortcut you take now will only hinder your advancement in this field. I see a lot of people doing those test crams or the brain dumps for microsoft exams. Both break microsofts exams policy but people do it anways. Those are the same people that will get into a job and fail miserably because they didn't understand the material they tested on.

A+ and Net+ are nothing but terminology and troubleshooting IMO. There is no easy way of going around this. Create some flash cards, but a computer for dummies book are your only two options IMO.