stats

Status
Not open for further replies.

pjam76

Baseband Member
Guess you don't follow reality much then.

CSC is getting rid of 8000 workers and opening up an office in India an hiring 9000 workers.

I'm a contractor so it didn't bother me but most people I worked with on a CSC project were concerned.

The fact is on avg many programmers are paid 80k+.

In india they are paid at most 8K.

Do the math, it's simple business.

Many other larger companies are getting rid of tons and tons of people by the thousands.

The problem has always been many IT people were non business and not the best at socializing for years.

So now when business views IT as another business expense and not some "wow" factor it's just a fact of life.

If many programmers/engineers/and so on have trouble speaking to others it won't matter how great they are at what they do because it can be done about as good for about 20 times less at times.

It's simple math.

Statistics are nice if you sit at home and have a father who's last name is Gates and first name is Bill.

But in reality most stats are biased to make people belive everything is hunky dory.

pjam76 said:
Guess you don't follow reality much then.

CSC is getting rid of 8000 workers and opening up an office in India an hiring 9000 workers.

I'm a contractor so it didn't bother me but most people I worked with on a CSC project were concerned.

The fact is on avg many programmers are paid 80k+.

In india they are paid at most 8K.

Do the math, it's simple business.

Many other larger companies are getting rid of tons and tons of people by the thousands.

The problem has always been many IT people were non business and not the best at socializing for years.

So now when business views IT as another business expense and not some "wow" factor it's just a fact of life.