Is my pay reasonable?

AuntySocial

Beta member
Hello, I'm wondering if my pay is what would be expected for my job. I get $14/hour to do a bunch of generic IT tasks for a home builder, flooring store, and credit repair company in NW Indiana (all owned by the same guy in two locations). I've been there nearly a year and repair the computers and network, train them to use the software, manage/develop/design the three database driven websites, customize MS Dynamics CRM, edit testimonial videos, and setup their point of sale system and inventory database. Before this job I was primarily a freelance website developer/designer with additional experience in video editing. I have no official certifications and only a certificate in computer science. I'm largely self taught. I realize I don't deserve the big IT bucks without really any bona fides and still having much to learn to be considered an expert, but it does bug me a little that I spent years just learning how to do programming at all and how computers work to earn the same as the others in the office whose jobs you could train just about anybody to do. Does $14/hour seem like a fair rate? Thanks.

Depends on what you feel you are worth in comparison to the job you do. sounds like you feel you are worth more, but you don't feel the job you do is worth more. Companies pay you based off the job you do. lots of people feel they are worth way more money than they are paid - which may be true but from a business perspective, you get paid for the job not who you are.

It's tough, every company, industry and region is different. For a general IT person who is going day-to-day general tasks i'd saying anywhere from 30 to 35k would be average. Sounds like you are a hair below that.