Much happier career change :)

Fusionman

Beta member
So I was a sales consultant at my local OfficeMax for 6 months or more and I just recently called it quits. Managers were pretty surprised at my decision until I calmly told them that I want a career of troubleshooting computers, which I have enjoyed since I was 14. In my mid twenties now, I have decided to study for my A+ certification and go back to school for a possible degree in Computer Engineering. Wish I could of made this decision earlier lol.

I was in a very similar situation to yours. I was working at a school teaching logic to junior high students. I loved the subject, but... teaching young kids isn't my calling. So I applied in the same district as IT support and got the job. Been here over a year now and loving every second of it. Currently going through a computer science / computer information systems BS program and plan on doing server administration or database management soon. Loving every second if it!

Welcome to the forums btw. I see you're new 'round here :tongue:

Your degree will get you further then simply an A+, Network+ and Security+ Exam.

Find a decent degree and look at Cisco or Microsoft or Linux certifications. Don't waste time on 200$ exams.
They are 200$ because thats all they give you, 200$ jobs.

Seriously so inspiring. I am 17 and i want nothing more than to pursue a career in computer engineering. I want to got to Harvey Mudd for a degree in computer science after high school.

Awesome to hear nightelf,

The best advise I can tell ANYONE getting in IT is find a hobby.
Something totally not related to computers at all.
earn a musical instrument, get into cars, bikes or model airplanes, anything like that.

When you get stressed or something didn't go right, you want to have an escape, something you can do that takes you away from a desk.