MCDST

Status
Not open for further replies.

MindoverMaster

Golden Master
I am prepairing to take MCDST, 070-271 and 070-272.

All the reading and videos were like, yawn. The actual practice tests, I found confusing. It's between two answers, and I can't decide which, and I usually pick the wrong one. I'm a freelancer, not a book geek. I don't follow a list of things to do. I just DO.

I've worked a lot with XP Pro. This is easy, but then when you answer the question, its like, huh?

Should I just try and think it through while running a virtual machine of XP?

Ya, i've found for me it is helpful not only to answer the questions, but actually do what the question is asking on a computer (or VM if you don't have an XP machine). Sounds like you may need to do the same thing where you not only study but while doing the practice questions do that task on a machine.

May i also suggest doing a more current certification like Windows 7, Enterprise Desktop Administrator by taking the 70-686 exam. Sicne you haven't take the MCDST yet i personally would take an MCST or MCITP exam because they are more current and test you on current OS systems instead of the old Xp (which won't be supported much longer. Microsoft Certifications expire once the technologies aren't supported any longer. I think technically Xp will be supported for while though - but just a thought.

Large businesses can't move to Vista because all the 10,000 computers run XP and their software only run on XP. But yes, they do need to wake up.

I'll ask my counselor about that.

I have a VM of XP Pro, Vista Ultimate and 7 Ultimate. As well as Ubuntu.

I agree and i'm not saying an MCDST wouldn't be worth anything.