Help with school project

Status
Not open for further replies.

mukIT

Baseband Member
I have a project that was assigned for our final, it is to build a home server in class. every one in the class but two of us the has financial aid and got their kits paid for by financial aid. Me and one other person are paying out of pocket and don't have much to spend. the project is 200 out of our 625 total points for the class

what the requirements are:
1ghz cpu min (does not specify core)
1gb of memory
raid 1 (use on board or add on card at our discretion, and explain the benefits of our choice)
2 sata hard drives ( no size specification)
Windows home server or Ubuntu server (our choice)

Ubuntu gives an extra 25 points

I am going to go with Ubuntu because it is free and i have never used Linux before so this might be a huge chore for me. every one else got the windows home server included so me and brandy are going with Ubuntu.

WHAT I AM ASKING FOR IS NOT A HANDOUT! but if you have some of this stuff lying around and want to get rid of it at a price i can afford please email me at markmerr73 at yahoo dot com, and put projetc in the subject line.

I am pretty much looking for me and Brandy, I am watching craigslist like a hawk but no luck so far. also if you have any advice on how to put this together successfully I am a great listener.

thanks

Pretty sure it is borderline illegal for them to require you to purchase things out-of-pocket for a grade. I would seriously question the ethics and validity of this project. Don't get me wrong, the project is a good idea - the fact that they are making you pay for something that is going to cost a decent about of money is crap.

If it were me and i couldn't afford it i would go to the administration office and complain. Honestly I truely feel what the professior is requiring is wrong.