Going crazy, losing confidence, need some help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kmdcomp

Beta member
Hey everyone, my first post here and it's pretty long. I'm completely self taught in the IT field and have about 12 years of experience split between tech work and network setup and administration, I also know how to do some basic programming in java, VB, and PHP. The first time I set up a server and domain, it was at a customer's place of business; you can imagine how well that went. I've learned a lot since then, but never had any formal training or even anything like a mentor to work under. When something goes wrong or needs to be set up, I hit Google or post to various tech forums to get me through. This has worked well in the past, but my workload has increased dramatically over the last year and I need some advice on where I should focus the time I have available to pick up new skills and become a proper network administrator.

I've been at the same place, a small medical clinic, for going on 7 years now as a one man IT show. If it has a cord attached to it, they bring it to me and expect me to be able to support it. I do the day to day desktop support, all hardware purchases and setup, 2008 sbs and 2007 exchange support, telephony, database and website administration, BES admin, backup management, manage our patient information system, IT budgeting, reports, any audio/visual setup, conference call setup, HIPPA compliance as it applies to IT and network security, develop IT policies and procedures, and just about anything else you can think of that could come up at a 2 building medical clinic with 2 physical servers, 50 workstations running xp and win 7, a dozen or so laptops in the field, a handful of droid/blackberry smartphones, and 6 to 7 remote users. I work about 50 hours per week and spend about 5 to 10 hours per week in meetings.