Entry IT jobs and driving

ewh006

Solid State Member
I am a current student and have my a+ certification. I am looking to get into the networking field, and have already taken Cisco's Networking Academy, but have yet to certify. All the craigslist jobs I've looked at , nearly 9 of 10 of the listings require you to have reliable transportation. Whether this means 'have a good driving record', due to the company providing a vehicle, or 'have reliable transportation' , them wanting you to have your own transportation. I have no reliable transportation, and currently have a temporary suspension on my license for no insurance surcharges by the state of Texas. This will not always be a problem, but I'm in a position where it could be possible to obtain 'reliable transportation', but I need solid sources or whatnot to gain this 'reliable transportation'.

Is this common place for low level IT jobs like : Helpdesk, Site-Site Contract, Hardware Bench say at CompUSA or FRYs, or even cable jobs like Comcast, to require this kind of transportation. Let me know all info is greatly appreciated and will be for sure used in some way to benefit my cause.

ewh006

I would think that this would be a requirement. Look at it from the companies POV. They hire a technician to to do IT work (Generally speaking) but some of that work requires that person to drive to a client's business and work on a server, or POS, or something else that cannot be remotely logged into. If you cannot drive, that now requires someone else to handle your work load, since you can't drive. It also shows a little more responsibility to the employer that you can maintain yourself, and not become a burden to the company.

ewh006 said: