Which direction to go while still in school?

kcrasch

Baseband Member
I am about to start classes for the spring semester and I am on the fence about which path to take. I have completed 30 hrs of my basics and am looking now to finish my route toward an A.S. in Computer Engineering Technology. It's a lot of A+ Operating and Hardware repair with very little Programming. I chose this degree because it gives me the ability to get a job before I get a B.S. and I was told it had the best career value. The other option was an A.S. in Computer Programming and Analysis. I was told that degree only led to security and help desk jobs???

I am not sure of where I will head after the A.S. . . . maybe B.S. in Comp. Science or Software Engineering or Comp. Engineering . . . no idea. This is my dilemma. I have no idea of the actual (JOB) application for any of these degrees. I realistically want to head into a degree with the most value. I am new in the world of computer literates, but I have found I catch on quickly and love spending hours soaking in any data I am able to comprehend.

Any thoughts or guidance from personal experiences would be much appreciated.

Well ultimately you should choose what you enjoy the most. As far as I know Comp. Engineering and science is kinda in-between hardware and software. You could do, say Comp. Science and then learn programming later, if you want to.
It's your decision, so I'm not really in a place to tell you to do something.

In my experience, what you know is more important than what your degree says. No degree will lock you into a specific career track - you don't even need an IT degree to work in IT. Your degree is something that HR looks at; the manager you'll potentially be working under will want to know if you know your stuff.