Desktop Support Diploma

Status
Not open for further replies.
Experience counts for more than anything else, really.

If I were you, I'd just whore myself out on craigslist until I had some experience and then go to a staffing agency.

EDIT: OR you could go somewhere like New Horizons because they will teach you and place you. HOWEVER!!!!! Do NOT get suckered into paying for the full course! ONLY take A+ and Net+ because whatever company you go with will pay for the rest of your training!!!

Not true. I have over a dozen years of experience. Yet i still cant get hired as a desktop tech.

It is also not true that the company you get placed with will train you the rest of the way. There are many places that wont pay for your M$ Certs.

Placing yourself on Craig's list might make you money. But it will never get you a real job. I know. I have been doing it for several years now. I get passed over for every IT job cause of the fact i dont have any Certs on paper. Yet i can out smart most of their IT people.

Not true. I have over a dozen years of experience. Yet i still cant get hired as a desktop tech

Where do you look? I have only 1 year of professional experience and I got picked up as a Jr. Network Admin with my current company.

And also, it is true that SOME places will not pay for more training, but even big guys like Cisco will get you your CCNA (of course they can do it in house).

If you do have marketable experience go with someone like Manpower Professional or Robert Half Technology.

Manpower runs more like a Mac store, in my experience, much easier to get along with and very efficient.

Robert Half runs more like Windows, buggy, stuck up, rigid and inefficient.