Computer Software Engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

adventk

Baseband Member
Hi everyone im new to techist.com !

Well I just finished highschool, barely. woo go class of 09! I was wondering if I was interested in being a computer software engineer what kind of schooling do i need and how many years? Right now I'm going to be attending community college and i was wonder do I need good mathematical skills to be succesful? What major would be the best choice if I wanted to be working in a field where I develop or program software for companies and stuff. Also hows the pay for those that are already working in this field? Thanks again for the help guys this will greatly help my future in choosing a career that best suits me.

Software engineering, computer engineering, and computer science are the top majors (in order) for this career path.

I would say having a bachelors (4 years) is a minimum. And with anything in the tech field ongoing education is a must. Don't forget certifications either.

Do you need good math? For college a strong yes...for the job, I'm not to sure. I'm going to be majoring in computer science and I'll end up with 21 credit hours of math classes. 9 hours of it will be calculus, so that kind of sets the bar of what level of math you'll need.

Pay...after all the research I've done expect around $60,000 a year starting with a 4 year degree. It's a "salaried' job..so you get paid that set amount(meaning you aren't paid by the hour..but some do this).

Job environment (from what I've collected in my research): Expect to work on a team with people...no sitting in a cubicle by yourself, lots of meetings, and lots of unpaid overtime hours.

I hope I helped :] This is my chosen career path..so I've already tried soaking up a lot about it. But might I ask why you chose this? Especially at such a late time?