Changing Careers

stryker2000

Beta member
I have seen multiple threads about individuals wanting to find new jobs in IT but I wanted to ask for myself.

I separated recently from the military as an aircraft mechanic but can no longer do too well in that position. I have an unrelated bachelors degree and want to go back to school for either computer science or IT but really haven't made up my mind as to which. I'd rather something more hands on since there are many occasions where I enjoyed ripping a computer apart and putting it back together. I see quite a bit about certifications, etc. Are these the best route to go to get a foot in the door? I see some websites swear by them but others say they are useless.

I too have a BS in an unrelated field. I think in your position i would suggest certifications.

Certifications aren't useless, the problem is people don't learn the technology - they just worry about passing the exam.

I would start off with CompTIA A+ and Net+ to get your feet wet, then go from there.

That sounds like a plan! I think I would enjoy getting into security as well. Would the A+ still be a starting point? I see on the Comptia website a strat cert too. Is this just a basic, bare-bones cert?

I also have a BS that isn't related to the field I work in (software engineer but my degree is in Management) and don't feel that has hurt me. Certifications will help you get your foot in the door then after that, your experience will carry more weight than anything else.

CompTIA is the starting point. Once you get a few certifications and get your feet wet then get into more difficult / specific certification paths.

That sounds like a plan! I think I would enjoy getting into security as well. Would the A+ still be a starting point? I see on the Comptia website a strat cert too. Is this just a basic, bare-bones cert?